The IUMA has carried out research exchanges (doctors and doctorands) with the following national and international centres:

The University of Adelaide (Australia)

Edith Cowan University (Australia)

Imperial College (United Kingdom)

Gwangju Institue of Science and Technology (South Korea)

Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits, IIS (Germany)

The Catholic University of Leuven (Belgium)

Technical University of Denmark (Denmark)

Philips Research Laboratories (Holland)

Thomson Semiconducteur Specifiques (France)

Vitesse Semiconductor Corp (USA)

Universidad Politécnica de Madrid (Spain)

Centro de Electrónica Industrial, CEI (Spain)

Centro de Estudios e Investigaciones Técnicas de Guipuzcoa, CEIT (Spain)

INCIDE S.A. (Spain)

Instituto de Óptica del Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas, CSIC (Spain)

Silicon Valley Technical Institute; San Jose, California (USA)

Universidad de Sevilla (Spain)

University of California, Irvine (USA)

University of Purdue (USA)

University of Michigan Tech (USA)

University of Virginia Tech (USA)

University of Amsterdam (Holland)

In addition to the institutions mentioned above, the IUMA has been working with other national and international universities and companies dedicated to Electronics and Telecommunications for years. It maintains cooperation agreements and research exchanges with these entities, favouring the improvement of the doctorate program, facilitating the transfer of knowledge of new tools, technologies and methodologies. Included among these collaborations are:

• Collaborations with IUMA spin-offs: the IUMA has created several spin-off companies in the last 10 years, with which it maintains stable collaboration jointly participating in research projects and researcher exchange programs. The collaborators may be highlighted as: eSIGNUS, Canary Electronic Engineering (INELCAN), Independent Consulting Services S.L. (SCI) and Mobilife Technologies.

• Through the PRISMA Network (Multidimensional Signal Processing Theme), continuously funded by the Ministry of Science and Innovation since 2005, the IUMA is associated with: U. de Alicante, U. Politécnica de Cataluña, U. de Barcelona, U. Castilla la Mancha, U. Granada, U. Complutense de Madrid, U. Politécnica de Madrid, U. Rey Juan Carlos, U. Málaga, UP Cartagena, U. de Navarra, U. Vigo, U. Sevilla, U. Politécnica de Valencia, U. Valladolid, U. Zaragoza, Tecnobit, AIDO, MathWorks, Infaimon, Seven Solutions, Greenlight Solutions, Indra, Sener, Tecnalia

• Through the HIPEAC Network (European Network of Excellence on High Performance and Embedded Architecture and Compilation), funded under the Seventh Framework Program, the IUMA is associated with: Ghent University (Belgium), RWTH Aachen University (Germany), Chalmers University of Technology (Sweden), Delft University (Holland), The University of Edinburgh (United Kingdom), INRIA (France), Barcelona Supercomputing Center (Spain), Universidad Politécnica de Catalunya (Politechnic University of Catalonia, Spain)

• EUROPRACTICE: the IUMA has been a founding partner of Europractice, since it was originally known as Eurochip, a network in which the vast majority of European universities, active in microelectronics design, are represented.

• Technology Platforms: the IUMA is a member of the following technology platforms that include over 130 large and medium-sized companies and academic centres: PROMETEO (Spanish Technology Platform for Integrated Intelligence Systems); eMOV (Spanish Technology Platform for Wireless Communications); eISI (Spanish Technology Platform for Satellite Communications); eNEM (Spanish Technology Platform for Electronic Media); ThinkTur (Tourism Technology Platform); GENESIS (Spanish Technology Platform for Nanoelectronics and Smart Systems Integration); es.INTERNET (Spanish Technology Platform for Convergence towards Internet in the Future).

•  Regional Clusters: at a regional level, the IUMA is a partner of the following clusters: CIC (Canary Engineering Cluster); CET (Canary Technological Excellence); FECATIC (Canary Federation of Entrepreneurs in Information Technology, Innovation and Communication). In total, these three clusters include over 50 medium-sized companies in the electronics and telecommunications sectors in the Canary Islands and more than 300 smaller regional companies. The IUMA is also a member of the consortium, Innovative Company Group ( AEI FECATIC), approved by the Ministry of Industry, and has a Strategic Plan approved by this Ministry.

JSN Epic is designed by